Home » Headlines » Afghanistan beat Sri Lanka in Asia Cup 2022 opener

Afghanistan beat Sri Lanka in Asia Cup 2022 opener

by Pakistan Latest News Update

DUBAI – Nabi-led Workforce Afghanistan registered a thumping victory over Sri Lanka within the opening match of the Asia Cup in Dubai on Saturday.

Chasing 106, the Afghan squad reached dwelling in 10.1 overs. Proper-handed batter Rahmanullah Gurbaz displayed A-game whereas scoring 40 runs in Three overs. Gurbaz’s knock included three fours and 4 sixes.

Pakistan’s neighbors outclassed The Lions for a mere 105. Fazalhaq Farooqi claimed three scalps in lower than four overs. Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Mohammad Nabi bagged two wickets every.

In the meantime, attacking left-handed batsman Bhanuka Rajapaksa top-scored for Island nation with 38 runs in 29 balls, whereas Chamika Karunaratne was returned on 31 runs.

Afghan skipper Mohammad Nabi decide to bowl first in opposition to Sri Lanka after profitable the toss within the opening match of the Asia Cup Twenty20 match on Saturday.

Each Sri Lanka and Afghanistan face confronted inconsistency and a relentless change in squad within the latest previous. The Lions final performed a T20I sequence in opposition to Australia in June this yr which they misplaced 1-2.

Afghanistan, just lately misplaced a detailed T20 sequence in Eire however earlier swept Zimbabwe 6-Zero in ODI and T20s and Nabi stays assured his workforce can ship.

Asia Cup, the six-nation match, was moved from Sri Lanka to the UAE in wake of political unrest within the island nation.

In the meantime, all eyes are on Pakistan vs India vs Pakistan match because the Asian large looking for its toes within the worldwide occasion.


Sri Lanka: Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (capt), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana

Afghanistan: Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (capt), Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi 

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment