The European Union on Tuesday permitted a 30-day ban for non-essential journey to its 27 member states for folks from non-member nations, in a bid to stem the unfold of coronavirus.

The EU heads of state and authorities held a three-hour videoconference to debate the bloc’s additional steps in opposition to the unfold of the virus and stopping the financial fallout.

The journey to the EU for non-EU residents shall be restricted for 30 days, which may be prolonged.

“All EU nationals will receive help to return home,” the European Council’s President Charles Michel introduced at a information convention.

UK nationals nonetheless can enter the EU’s territory, as they’re thought of as EU nationals in the course of the post-Brexit transition interval until the top of this yr, the European Fee’s President Ursula von der Leyen clarified on the similar information convention.

Residents of the European nations which are members of the Schengen zone may also enter the EU.

EU leaders additionally welcomed the European Fee’s proposals on financial measures and reassuring the supply of products between European states by creating particular inexperienced lanes at borders for lorries carrying meals and healthcare gear, von der Leyen mentioned.

Many EU states have reintroduced border controls or utterly closed the borders to forestall the unfold of the virus which severely disrupts the EU’s inside market.

EU leaders additionally agreed to carry a videoconference each week to debate the newest developments as a part of its the struggle in opposition to the virus.

The World Well being Group (WHO) has declared Europe as the brand new epicenter of the coronavirus, which first emerged in Wuhan, China final December.