Home » Sports » ICC modifications format for T20 World Cup 2024

ICC modifications format for T20 World Cup 2024

by Pakistan Latest News Update

Worldwide Cricket Council (ICC) ICC Monday introduced the format of the T20 World Cup 2024, to be hosted by West Indies and America, which it stated was markedly completely different from the earlier occasions.

Within the subsequent T20 World Cup, 20 groups can be divided into 4 teams and two groups from every group will advance to the Tremendous eight stage, as per the ICC.
“The 20-team tournament proper in 2024 will work in two phases before the knockouts, though in a different framework from the First Round/Super 12 format at the 2021 and 2022 edition,” the council stated.
The Tremendous eight groups can be divided into two teams.
Furthermore, the highest two groups of the Tremendous eight will qualify for the semi-finals.
As many as 55 matches can be performed within the subsequent T20 World Cup.
The USA and West Indies have certified on the premise of being hosts, whereas Pakistan, England, India, and New Zealand have secured a spot based mostly on their efficiency in 2022.
“Qualifying as hosts alongside the West Indies, the tournament will be ground-breaking for the USA, hosting their first global event,” the ICC stated.
“As hosts, the West Indies and the USA take up the first two spots for 2024. From there, performances at the 2022 edition, and the ICC T20I rankings cut-off on November 14, determined the next 10 teams.”
Australia, Netherlands, Sri Lanka and South Africa have additionally certified on this yr’s efficiency.
Moreover, Afghanistan and Bangladesh have gained their locations based mostly on rating, whereas the opposite eight groups can be determined in keeping with the outcomes of qualifiers.
Two groups every from the continents of Africa, Asia, and Europe, whereas one every from the Pacific and the Americas will qualify, it stated.

Source link

You may also like