Home Headlines Pakistani squad honoured for lifting maiden T20 World Cup trophy in 2009

Pakistani squad honoured for lifting maiden T20 World Cup trophy in 2009

by News Updater

LAHORE – It was June 21, 2009, when Males in Inexperienced stormed to World Twenty20 victory after beating Lankan tigers within the last, and lifted their maiden ICC T20 World Cup trophy.

13 years after the wonderful second, the Pakistan Cricket Board has lastly honoured the successful crew for that success.

The PCB shared a documentary displaying glimpses of the long-lasting win.

“A journey through Pakistan’s unforgettable T20 World Cup triumph in 2009, Squad members from that iconic win take us through Pakistan’s maiden T20 world title and recall some never heard before stories,” the PCB wrote on Twitter.

The Younus Khan-led squad chased down the 139-run goal within the 19th over as Shahid Afridi starred with an unbeaten 54-run inning.

Afridi was named Man of the Match for his wonderful inning in addition to his contribution with the ball – the leg-spinner picked 1-20 in his restricted overs.

The Lankan aspect bought off to a foul begin as they misplaced openers with simply 32 runs on the board. Tillakaratne Dilshan and Jehan Mubarak returned to pavilion on the duck whereas Sanath Jayasuriya made 17 runs and Mahela Jayawardena simply 1.

Legendary Sangakkara performed an unbeaten knock of 64 runs to take the aspect’s whole to 138/6 within the allotted 20 overs.

Chasing 139, Kamran Akmal and Shahzaib Hasan supplied a gradual begin as they put up a gap stand of 48 runs.

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment