Home » Sports » PCB names new captain, fresh-look squad for Afghanistan T20Is

PCB names new captain, fresh-look squad for Afghanistan T20Is

by Pakistan Latest News Update

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Monday introduced a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20I sequence towards Afghanistan, naming Shadab Khan because the captain for the Sharjah tour.

Forward of the group’s announcement, PCB chief Najam Sethi stated that younger gamers who had carried out within the Pakistan Super League (PSL 2023) will likely be given the chance within the sequence and that he had taken the senior gamers Babar Azam, Muhammad Rizwan, and Shaheen Afrdid into confidence over the technique.
In a press assertion issued individually, Najam Sethi congratulated Shadab Khan on his appointment because the Pakistan group captain for the sequence towards Afghanistan.
“Shadab Khan has been the Pakistan vice-captain in white-ball cricket for the past couple of years and it is logical that he takes over the side in the absence of Babar Azam for the short three-match T20I tour of Sharjah.”
The PCB chief stated that Mohammad Yousuf has been appointed because the interim head and batting coach for the quick Sharjah tour and to “ensure continuity”.
Yousuf has been with the nationwide facet since final yr as a batting coach and has additionally been working within the Nationwide Excessive Efficiency Centre.
Sharing the explanations behind giving relaxation to the senior gamers, Chief Selector Haroon Rasheed stated, they’ve adopted the usual rotation coverage by resting the main performers and offering high-performing home performers with alternatives to exhibit their expertise and potential on the worldwide stage.
He added that this may also enable the board to check the temperament and talents of those gamers and serving to it to strengthen its pool of gamers as they stay up for constructing and making ready a formidable facet for subsequent yr’s T20 World Cup within the West Indies and United States.
SquadShadab Khan (captain) (Islamabad United), Abdullah Shafique (Lahore Qalandars), Azam Khan (Islamabad United), Faheem Ashraf (Islamabad United), Iftikhar Ahmed (Quetta Gladiators), Ihsanullah (Multan Sultans), Imad Wasim (Karachi Kings), Mohammad Haris (Peshawar Zalmi), Mohammad Nawaz (Quetta Gladiators), Mohammad Wasim Junior (Islamabad United), Naseem Shah (Quetta Gladiators), Saim Ayub (Peshawar Zalmi), Shan Masood (Multan Sultans), Tayyab Tahir (Karachi Kings), Zaman Khan (Lahore Qalandars)
Reserve gamers – Abrar Ahmed (Islamabad United), Haseebullah (Peshawar Zalmi) and Usama Mir (Multan Sultans)

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment