Home Headlines Zimbabwe upstage BD to degree T20 sequence

Zimbabwe upstage BD to degree T20 sequence

by News Updater

HARARE: Wellington Masakadza took three wickets and three catches to steer Zimbabwe to a 23-run win over Bangladesh of their second Twenty20 Worldwide on the Harare Sports activities Membership on Friday.

It was Zimbabwe’s first success over the vacationers after dropping the one-off Take a look at, three ODIs and the primary of the three match T20 sequence on Thursday and units up a decider on Sunday.

Zimbabwe, who gained the toss and selected to bat, scored 166-6 with Wessley Madhevere contributing 73, to which Bangladesh replied with 143 in 19.5 overs.

Madhevere supplied the inspiration along with his knock, with highly effective hitter Ryan Burl including 34 not out whereas Shoriful Islam took 3-33.

Bangladesh, dominant with the bat throughout all codecs of the tour, this time did not get the higher of the house bowlers as first Blessing Muzarabani (2-21) after which Masakadza (3-20) received among the many wickets.

Within the opening fixture, Mohammad Naim and Soumya Sarkar each hit half centuries as Bangladesh gained by eight wickets. The pair featured in a 102-run opening wicket partnership to set Bangladesh on their strategy to a snug victory as they chased down a goal of 153 with seven balls to spare.

Naim completed on 63 not out whereas Sarkar received to 50 earlier than being run out.

Transient scores of first match:

ZIMBABWE 152 in 19 overs (R.W. Chakabva 43, D.N. Myers 35, W. Madhevere 23; Mustafizur Rahman 3-31, Shoriful Islam 2-17, Mohammad Saifuddin 2-23); BANGLADESH 153-2 in 18.5 overs (Mohammad Naim 63 not out, Soumya Sarkar 50).


T. Marumani b Mahedi 3W.N. Madhevere c Afif b Shoriful 73R.W. Chakabva c Shoriful b Shakib 14D.N. Myers c Mahedi b Shoriful 26Sikandar Raza run out 4R.P. Burl not out 34L.M. Jongwe c Shakib b Shoriful 2EXTRAS (LB-3, W-7) 10TOTAL (for six wkts, 20 overs) 166
FALL OF WKTS: 1-15, 2-42, 3-99, 4-122, 5-139, 6-166.
DID NOT BAT: M. Shumba, W.P. Masakadza, T.L. Chatara, B. Muzarabani.
BOWLING: Taskin Ahmed 4-0-28-0 (1w); Mahedi Hasan 1-0-11-1; Shoriful Islam 4-0-33-3 (2w); Mohammad Saifuddin 4-0-36-0 (2w); Shakib Al Hasan 4-0-32-1; Soumya Sarkar 2-0-16-0 (2w); Shamim Hossain 1-0-7-0.

Mohammad Naim b Muzarabani 5Soumya Sarkar c Sikandar b Muzarabani 8Mahedi Hasan c Burl b Masakadza 15Shakib Al Hasan c Sikandar b Masakadza 12Mahmudullah c sub b Masakadza 4Afif Hossain c Shumba b Chatara 24Nurul Hasan c Masakadza b Chatara 9Shamim Hossain c Masakadza b Jongwe 29Mohammad Saifuddin c Sikandar b Jongwe 19Taskin Ahmed c Masakadza b Jongwe 5EXTRAS (B-2, LB-7, W-4) 13TOTAL (all out, 19.5 overs) 143
FALL OF WKTS: 1-14, 2-17, 3-45, 4-52, 5-53, 6-68, 7-109, 8-127, 9-141.
BOWLING: Sikandar Raza 3-0-22-0 (1w); Chatara 4-0-24-2 (1w); Muzarabani 4-0-21-2; Jongwe 3.5-0-31-3 (2w); Masakadza 4-0-20-3; Madhevere 1-0-16-0.
RESULT: Zimbabwe gained by 23 runs to degree three-match sequence 1-1.
UMPIRES: F. Mutizwa (Zimbabwe) and I. Chabi (Zimbabwe).
TV UMPIRE: L. Rusere (Zimbabwe).
MATCH REFEREE: A.J. Pycroft (Zimbabwe).
PLAYER-OF-THE-MATCH: Wessley Madhevere.

Revealed in Daybreak, July 24th, 2021

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Comment